It does not receive public funding
Editor in chief:

Facebook Twitter Google+ Youtube

Antonio Tajani elected new President of the European Parliament

Strasbourg, France - He won with 351 votes in a final face-off with Gianni Pittella (282)

Antonio Tajani (EPP, IT) won Parliament’s presidential election with 351 votes in a final face-off with Gianni Pittella (S&D, IT), who secured 282 votes. Outcome of the fourth ballot Antonio Tajani (PPE, IT) 351 Gianni Pittella (S&D, IT) 282 Valid votes cast: 633 Abstentions: 80 Total votes cast: 713 No candidate won the required absolute majority of valid votes cast in the first three rounds of voting in Parliament’s presidential election on Tuesday. Outcome of the third ballot Antonio Tajani (EPP, IT) 291 (+4) Gianni Pittella (S&D, IT) 199 (-1) Helga Stevens (ECR, BE) 58 (-8) Jean Lambert (Greens/EFA, UK) 53 (+2) Eleonora Forenza (GUE/NGL, IT) 45 (+3) Laurentiu Rebega (ENF, RO) 44 (-1) Valid votes cast : 690 Absolute majority: 346 Total votes cast: 719 Outcome of the second ballot Antonio Tajani (EPP, IT) 287 (+13) Gianni Pittella (S&D, IT) 200 (+ 17) Helga Stevens (ECR, BE) 66 (-11) Jean Lambert (Greens/EFA, UK) 51 (-5) Laurentiu Rebega (ENF, RO) 45 (+2) Eleonora Forenza (GUE/NGL, IT) 42 (-8) Valid votes cast : 691 Absolute majority: 346 Total votes cast: 725 Outcome of the first ballot Antonio Tajani (PPE, IT) 274 Gianni Pittella (S&D, IT) 183 Helga Stevens (ECR, BE) 77 Jean Lambert (Verdi/ALE, UK) 56 Eleonora Forenza (GUE/NGL, IT) 50 Laurentiu Rebega (ENF, RO) 43 Valid votes cast in the first ballot: 683 Absolute majority: 342 Total votes cast: 718 Candidates’ presentations before the vote The election of a new European Parliament President began with three-minute speeches by the six candidates, outlining their ideas on how to lead the chamber over the next two and half years. Guy Verhofstadt (ALDE) withdrew his candidature before the vote. MEPs then proceeded to cast their votes in the first round. Parliament’s Vice-Presidents and Quaestors will be elected on Wednesday.

fra/pec - 1201525

© World Aeronautical Press Agency Srl