It does not receive public funding
Editor in chief:

Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram LinkedIn

"Open Skies" treaty: the adhering countries will meet in July

The US exit from the agreement at the center of the talks

On July 6, a conference of the countries signatories to the "Open Skies" Treaty will take place, which will focus on the exit of the United States from the agreement, recently decided by President Trump without informing the Congress (see interesting detailed study AVIONEWS). The non-proliferation and arms control department of the Russian Ministry of Defense reported these hours. The American decision was announced last May 21, and Secretary of State Michael Pompeo the next day had explained how this would have effect after 6 months from May 22, ie November 22, 2020.

Trump blamed the decision on alleged Russian violations of the treaty. Moscow obviously rejected them from the sender.

The Treaty on "Open Skies" or "Open Skies" is an international agreement that aims to promote transparency on military activities conducted by member countries according to the concept of mutual air observation. Entered into force in 2002, 34 countries have so far joined (Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine, the United Kingdom and the United States, and Kyrgyzstan which has yet to ratify the signature).

The agreement has an unlimited duration and is open for adhesion by other countries.

red - 1230275

AVIONEWS - World Aeronautical Press Agency